How Top SpED Educators Teach Writing to Improve Communication

Presented by Dr. Janet Sturm

Communication skills are a crucial element of student development, and students with complex needs are no exception. Yet, many students with complex needs have difficulty communicating in conventional ways and that impacts everything from behavior to Social and Emotional Learning (SEL).

For the past several decades, I've been working with educators to use writing as a tool for real communication gains. I have many stories and strategies from great teachers across the country that I've seen work. These classrooms show us that implementing comprehensive writing instruction has wide-ranging effects that have been shown to even decrease negative behaviors.

Writing isn’t just one of the core focal points in the new education standards, it’s one of the things that make it possible for us to make our voices heard, to get outside our own heads, and to be a part of the world. Attend this webinar to see how you can make this transformation in your own classroom(s).

About the Presenter

Beth Poss


Dr. Sturm
is a professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders at Central Michigan University, and she has been working in general and special education classrooms for over 30 years. Her research and development work focuses on writing instruction for students with disabilities, computer-supported literacy, formative and summative assessments of beginning writers, classroom communication and augmentative and alternative communication (AAC).

  
What How Top SpED Educators Teach Writing to Improve Communication
When Mar 20 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM (CDT)
PLEASE CHECK YOUR TIME ZONE
1 PM Eastern, 11 AM Mountain, 10 AM Pacific
First Name* Last Name*
Email Address*
 
Confirm Email Address*
*
Select the title that most closely matches your role*
*
State/Province (or N/A)*
*
Country*
Questions or Comments