Dyslexia: New Opportunities Using Data to Close the Reading Gap

Dyslexia is not related to an intelligence deficit, yet reading barriers can prevent these students from realizing their true potential. Simply having the right data showing how students read best (whether through a read aloud accommodation or independent reading) can make the difference between accessing modified materials and accessing grade-level text.

In this webinar, Dr. Denise DeCoste will show you how to use data to identify which accommodations will help students with dyslexia launch their success.

Special guest, Dr. Denise DeCoste will discuss these topics:

  • Modifications Are Different from Accommodations
  • Choosing Accommodations Wisely with uPAR
  • How to tell if students' accommodations are working
  • Student success stories

 

Dr. Denise DeCoste

is the co-author of PAR and uPAR, the transformative assessment that shows which students can benefit from a reading accommodation. Denise is an occupational therapist and a special educator with 30+ years of experience in the field of assistive technology with her doctorate focusing on using assistive technology to improve the spelling and writing development of students with severe speech and physical disabilities. 

 

 

  
What Dyslexia—New Opportunities Using Data to Close the Reading Gap
When Aug 28 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM (CDT)
PLEASE CHECK YOUR TIME ZONE
1 PM Eastern, 11 AM Mountain, 10 AM Pacific
First Name* Last Name*
Email Address*
 
Confirm Email Address*
*
Select the title that most closely matches your role*
*
Mailing State/Province (or N/A)*
Mailing Country*
Questions or Comments